Finding a way to work

Hello all,
I’m a research student and parent exploring ways that young people with intellectual and developental disabilities can have a working life that fits their strengths, interests and abilities.
I’m interested in the potential of ‘self build’ work opportunities - paid and unpaid - where people find a way in to the kind of work that suits them and take a PA to work with them to make it possible.
Do you know someone doing something like that?
I’m interested in all sorts of examples and I’m especially interested in finding a some specific cases to investigate.
Please get in touch!

1 Like

See CNTW project choice for info

Hi if you get in touch with Sandwell and West Birmingham CCG. A couple of years ago they did a similar thing they may be able to help.

1 Like

Hi,

Supported Internship Programmes – lots of providers are delivering these programmes. I’m sure there will be one local to you. Also,
check out Remploy, Scope also do employability programmes. Mencap have also done a lot of research and delivered projects.

We are currently delivering a project in Nottinghamshire but very much in development this year with only 2 students.

Louise

1 Like

my Son is on a journey with what you describe as his destination. Finding it a hard path to forge here, so far.
Very happy for you to get in touch…

1 Like

Hi Phil,

Many thanks for the links - I’ll take a good look.
My main interest, though, is in the ‘self-build’ aspect - doing it outside an organised scheme. Do you have any more thoughts?
Best to you,
Abigail

Hi Mandimoo - thanks very much for the contact. Hugely appreciated. I’ll get onto it!

Hi Loup,
Thanks for your information. It’s always good to hear of positive initiatives.