PPE when caring for children with PMLD

I am concerned about the govt guidance for schools and carers, especially the absence of any mention of PPE when caring for children with PMLD. This is particularly relevant in special schools. It all seems to be a generic guidance for vulnerable children.

Hi @Murree

Is it the guidance published by the Government yesterday that you are referring to?

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/safe-working-in-education-childcare-and-childrens-social-care/safe-working-in-education-childcare-and-childrens-social-care-settings-including-the-use-of-personal-protective-equipment-ppe

Thankyou for this; is there a survey of how many special schools are using Full PPE during personal care . As far as I am aware staff use gloves and aprons to change the vulnerable children attending schools at present.

Please could I have advice if you work in a special school

I am a teacher in a generic special school. My class is for students with profound and multiple learning disabilities (PMLD). Most of my class are at home but 4 children, who are classed as vulnerable or whose mental wellbeing is suffering at home, are in class. The staff and I provide students with direct care with eating and drinking, postural management and personal care. I have read all the government advice and there seems to be a gap where students with PMLD are concerned. Other than using the same PPE for personal care ( gloves and aprons). Face coverings are only mentioned in regard to aerosol generating procedures or if a child is showing symptoms. Bearing in mind that all my students attending school have conditions which put students in the clinically vulnerable ( but not extremely vulnerable) group, what should we be doing to protect the students when we we have to be within two metres of them? (Which is nearly all the time) Because of small numbers of students in school, we have had a rota in place sharing the running of the class between two teams. My team of st