Surveillance technologies in care homes

Hello everyone,

My name is Ruth and I am a researcher at the University of Greenwich undertaking a project looking at the use of CCTV cameras in care homes, and how care homes are guided by the law to ensure that the right to privacy and right to security of residents are protected. The ultimate goal of my research is to create a national guidance for all care homes to follow to ensure that CCTV cameras are used effectively and lawfully.

My research is interested in interviewing care home Directors/managers and friends/family members of residents in care homes. If you agree to participate a consent form and participation sheet will be sent over to you to obtain your consent and to let you know more about the research. All your details will be kept confidential. My research has also been ethically approved.

I would really appreciate your participation. Should you agree to take part or if you would like to know about my research before you agree then please do email me via this email address: R.A.Onafuye@greenwich.ac.uk

Thank you very much, I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Ruth

Hello Ruth,
some years ago i was a voluntary advocate for a married couple of adults with learning difficulty i meet them through a group of family carers i was at the time supporting my sister an adult with learning difficulty’s, we called the group inclusion southwest the group came about because we observed irregularities in the care system this story begins when the couple with learning difficulty decided to make there marriage Compleat Thay would like a child, and much to my surprise i was asked if i would support them as Thay new me and we had a trust, little did i know how my life would change over the next two years , but that’s another story